One dimension less

July 24, 2013 at 6:29 pm (Daily Awesomeness)

This morning I received a note from a publisher comparing my steampunk book to Gail Carringer. All very nice, except the publisher wasn’t meaning it as a compliment exactly – she was explaining that it wasn’t her sort of thing. It so happened that I drew a line in the sand more than a year ago, and the line just got crossed – that was it: the end of any plausible hope for that book, or for any other book I’ve written.

Although it’s perfectly possible I’ll start over in five or ten years, the psychological harm of constant near-misses plus the expenditure of time in a pointless endeavour is now greater than the joy of writing. So, since I believe a writer is someone who writes. . . that’s it. I’m not a writer at this time, and may never be again. In terms of major life goals, I now have only one dimension left: stay at home mum. I like Louisette a lot (who doesn’t?) but a large chunk of my soul just got amputated and thrown away. This is the second time over a decade of my life’s work has been proven to be more harmful than helpful, and it’s right to feel sad before moving on.

Permalink 2 Comments

My African heritage….no, seriously!

July 21, 2013 at 7:22 pm (Daily Awesomeness)

My biological father left when I was very small, and my mum married again when I was two – so “Dad” to me is, unsurprisingly, the man who raised me.

Biodad has been in and out of jail his whole life for various financial scams, so it was no great loss that he vanished out of our lives well before my older brother or I could hope to remember anything about him. I was in my mid-teens before it came up in conversation that he was South African by birth, and had only moved to Australia with his family as a young adult. This was cool because it means I’m half African. (White South African, clearly. . . When I visit Indonesia people ask to take photos of me because they’ve never seen someone so white).

*Abrupt change of topic*

I’m known for my pancakes. My sister used to ask me to make them for her when she visited from Perth, and when I decided to quit all paid work and give writing a full-on go back in 2001 I lived mainly on pancakes (with margarine instead of butter and using powdered milk, one can eat pancakes two or three times a day with lemon and sugar for about $5/week) for several months. It didn’t even put me off pancakes.

At the child care centre where I work, two of our cooks are South African and the main lady in the 1-year olds’ room is from Finland. When my Finnish co-worker talked about how she was looking forward to making cloudberry pancakes on the weekend like she used to do in Finland, one of the cooks talked about how South Africans love to make very thin pancakes, cover them in cinnamon sugar, then roll them up and eat them as the cinnamon sugar melts into a syrup.

It so happens that the pancakes I make are extremely thin – almost see-through – and I like cinnamon sugar on toast enough that I have cinnamon sugar pre-mixed in my cupboard. For the first time ever, I felt I had a connection to the country that gave me half of my DNA. I actually misted up.

Naturally, I celebrate this new-found “family tradition” with pancakes and cinnamon sugar – cooked paper-thin and rolled into a tube to eat. Because that’s what we South Africans do.

Permalink Leave a Comment

Where’s your nose?

July 17, 2013 at 4:31 pm (Daily Awesomeness)

Louisette has had this question down for a while, but she still likes to point out noses wherever they may be. Also, she’s just learned about ears, which will be handy for charades shortly.

IMG_2062

IMG_2064

IMG_2114

Permalink Leave a Comment

Can’t write.

July 14, 2013 at 7:44 pm (Daily Awesomeness)

Too busy watching the Tour de France. Tonight will be especially epic – mostly flat then Mount Ventoux. It’s common for riders to be delirious when they reach the top due to altitude + fatigue + wind blasting. Enjoy?

Permalink Leave a Comment

Monkey See, Monkey Do

July 9, 2013 at 10:00 pm (Daily Awesomeness)

IMG_2055Those who know me know I have a complicated system of storing my memory in written form, especially on my hand (it turns out that ink really doesn’t seep through into one’s bloodstream and do whatever-it-was my teachers darkly hinted at). When Louisette gets a pen, she knows just what to do with it.

There’s plenty more of the sincerest form of flattery coming up, I know. Time to stop swearing, start eating healthily, and be perfect in every way.

*sigh*

Permalink Leave a Comment

Don’t Mention the Bus!

July 8, 2013 at 4:13 pm (Daily Awesomeness) (, )

This year is the 100th Tour de France, and although Lance Armstrong’s drug use can’t help but come to mind it’s severely outmatched by the sheer scale, drama and pageantry of literally the only sporting event that I watch (I don’t watch the Olympics, possibly because it’s lacking in ancient castles perched on sharp-edged mountains beside the races).

Here’s my personal highlights so far:

The two-year old Australian team (Orica GreenEdge – developed the year after the Australian leader of team BMC, Cadel Evans, won the tour) started day one with a comical (and potentially deadly) saga: their team bus was stuck fast under the finishing banner as the riders raced towards the line. Bits of the bus were coming off; the fire department was on the scene and helpless; the riders were advised over race radio that the race would finish three kilometres early (some heard the warning and some didn’t). . . . and then it cleared up just in time.

Only days later, with literally centimetres to spare, an Orica GreenEdge rider – Australian Simon Gerrans – JUST BARELY won a stage (ie he came first that day). This was a huge boon for the team.

The following day, Orica GreenEdge won the fastest team time trial ever in the Tour de France by a fraction of a second. . . which made Simon Gerrans the overall fastest thus far. That meant he got to wear the incredibly coveted yellow jersey (and it also meant that the team would take the lion’s share of on-road pacemaking responsibility while he had it).

He kept it the next day. The day after that, he gave it up – by choice – having worked out that if he dropped back a few places at a crucial moment, his own team-mate Daniel Impy would get to wear the yellow. Daniel Impy is the first South African – the first African – to wear the yellow jersey – and apparently all South African cyclists wore something yellow that day to celebrate.

In other news, on the sprinting side, Marcel Kittel won the first stage (which meant he got to wear the yellow jersey on day 2), Mark Cavendish won a stage (he’s won more stages than anyone ever and is a rather unpleasant but intensely skilled rider), and his ex-team-mate Andre Greipel also won a stage (which made me happy, because I like Greipel – partly because he has a history of frantically pedalling after Cavendish and/or getting left out of the Tour altogether).

And then came the mountains – when middle-of-the-range teams like Orica GreenEdge drop back and the overall contenders and mountaineers come to the fore. On the first day, Chris Froome of team Sky (the same team that won last year – Froome was in a supporting role then, and came second, with observers wondering if he should have been the team’s choice to win) shot ahead, leaving serious contenders like Cadel Evans behind by minutes – in Tour de France terms, a huge amount. Australian Sky team member Richie Porte was instrumental in helping him (just as Froome was instrumental in supporting overall winner Bradley Wiggins last year).

Many people, myself included, concluded that Chris Froome would win, Richie Porte would come second, and perhaps Alberto Contador would come third. On the very next day, however, Richie Porte fell back a huge amount, and Froome survived with barely any help from his team. Tomorrow is a rest day, so either team Sky will recover and soldier on – or Froome will try to win alone, and will certainly fail.

We’ll wait and see!

Permalink Leave a Comment

Louisette likes a bad boy. . . already

July 2, 2013 at 7:56 pm (Daily Awesomeness)

IMG_1992

Last week I worked a full 38 paid hours for the first time in about ten years. . . and I didn’t even get sick! Most of that was at the child care centre that will also be Louisette’s school (she’s already enrolled, and I’m almost always in the same room as her). I’m utterly fascinated by the clear personalities and friendships among the 1-year olds.

The group as a whole is brilliant – happy, healthy, and gorgeous. It’s my belief that 1-year olds aren’t actually “naughty”. They can be “cheeky”, they can certainly disobey the grown-ups (habitually or otherwise) and they can absolutely be “high-maintenance” but it’s too early to say that naughtiness is a part of who they are – because they’re trying it out, along with everything else.</p

Permalink Leave a Comment

She’s what now? The Julia Gillard story

June 30, 2013 at 4:25 pm (Daily Awesomeness) (, )

PS: Next Monday I’ll be writing about the Tour de France bike race, which you can watch in Australia on SBS. The first night was awesome – pretty scenery, complicated team dynamics, and the Australian team’s bus got stuck under the finish line JUST before the end of the race. Oh, LOL!

———————————————————————————————————————————————–

For those playing along in countries outside of Australia, here’s a quick rundown on recent Australian politics (I’ll expect corrections in the comments!):

1. The Liberal government under John Howard was in power for, like, ages (oddly enough, in Australia, the Liberals are the conservatives. Stay with me).

2. Labor took over under Kevin Rudd at around the same time as Obama & co took over in the USA and with a similarly hopeful rush of public feeling (soon to be dashed, predictably, as reality set in).

3. Three years ago, Kevin Rudd was VERY suddenly ousted – by his own party. The two main reasons were, firstly: pressure from mining corporations frantically resisting a mining tax (mining is where lots of Australian money comes from, and the wealthiest people in the country were not happy about someone telling them to share their hard-earned but enormous piles of money); and secondly, the fact that he might possibly literally be the worst boss ever (if you’re in his office and don’t work 12-hour days, he’ll apparently go all Gordon Ramsey on you, but with less tact).

Voila! We still had a Labor government (ie the not-so-conservative ones) but under Julia Gillard – our first female Prime Minister. I recall saying at the time that I was disappointed Rudd hadn’t done more for the environment, and now we had another chance.

Incidentally, Rudd’s resignation speech is utterly excruciating to watch – much too long, much too desperate, and much too sad. He became foreign minister, which actually suited him brilliantly.

4. Julia Gillard scraped through the next election by cooperating with the Greens (one of our minor parties; the most lefty one, as the name suggests) and did some stuff – most notably getting a watered-down mining tax passed; passing a much-hated carbon tax (apparently I was right about environmental hopes – but no-one likes to actually PAY for the world to be better); and a really useful National Disability Scheme. Throughout her time as PM, Rudd lurked in the background – sometimes voicing unconditional support, and sometimes challenging for the leadership.

Gillard’s gender was constantly a factor in personal attacks against her (and in a rather sweet ABC TV show), and at one point she gave a particularly good verbal smackdown to Liberal leader Tony Abbott (well known for not being great with women) when he brought up the treatment of women by the (definitively douchy) Peter Slipper. When she tried to use the gender card against Tony Abbott about a month ago, however, it sounded whiny.

Her worst moment as PM was her attempt to semi-legally foist our refugees onto other countries including Malaysia (at the same time as there was a massive outcry over Malaysia’s inhumane treatment of. . . wait for it. . . cows). Australia’s attitude to refugees (especially the tiny group who travel by boat – supposedly because they’re too LAZY to fill out paperwork….because storms and pirates and death and losing one’s life savings are so easy that everyone’s doing it just because they look good in a bikini and want to try Australian beaches) is appalling. It is our greatest modern shame.

5. Boom! A few days ago, Australians rolled their eyes at yet another leadership challenge within the Labor Party….but this time, Rudd won. And voila! He’s PM again.

I think he’s emotionally damaged from the betrayal several years ago; I think the Labor Party’s infighting is an international embarrassment as well as being undemocratic; I think Gillard never got a fair go at being PM (but still did a pretty good job) BUT Rudd is known for his international diplomacy so I’m hoping that he might just make Australia a slightly less irresponsible and hateful country when it comes to refugees. On his first day, he increased my hopes by being the first PM to criticise their political opposition as internationally irresponsible (for wanting to get rid of refugees) rather than the usual line – “We can get rid of refugees more efficiently than those morons.” Will something decent come out of all this backstabbing? I hope so.

—————————————————————

I’m also hopeful that this latest leadership spill will, like the first one, give Labor an election win. I’m a Labor voter anyway (being rather interested in human rights – even for poor people or *gasp* foreigners) but I’m particularly motivated to vote for them this year because they’re upgrading the broadband infrastructure for the entire country…..ME WANT INTERNET MORE GOOD! Also (here’s an even more selfish reason), it’s traditional with every change in government for masses of public servants to be fired (and then largely re-hired 18 months later, because apparently they WERE doing some kind of useful thing after all), and right now CJ is looking to switch jobs from one public service branch to another. He wouldn’t get fired (his current position is permanent and safe), but the job market would dry up, and that would suck for us, especially as we’d like the job switch to happen before we start trying for another baby next year. (Right now he spends two or more hours each day travelling to and from work while I’m alone with Louisette.)

So! Goodbye Gillard. I can’t really say you deserved better, because Rudd only did to you what you did to him – but I hope that when things settle down you can know and be known as a very decent national leader. And I hope that our next female PM is seen as less of a novelty and more of a. . . . well, a Prime Minister.

Hello again, Rudd. While you’re here, please do something good for the world. Australians might not like it, but how about you do it anyway?

Permalink Leave a Comment

Parent/Grandparenthood

June 25, 2013 at 10:57 pm (Daily Awesomeness)

These just seem to sum up the experience. Or at least, the bits that can be photographed. Only CJ’s parents are featured here because I began this post before uploading photos became an issue (I can only load one at a time these days – I do have some notions of how to make it better, but it’ll take a while to figure out).

5March2012

9August2012

 

10August2012

 

 

 

4September201220September2012

Permalink Leave a Comment

The Downfall of Feminism

June 24, 2013 at 5:43 pm (Daily Awesomeness)

I’m mostly sane these days, but there are still certain things that make me much more anxious than they should. Exercise is one of those things. I make swimming a priority, but the emotional cost is high (and coordinating care for Louisette at the same time is remarkably complex too).

So the other day I went for a swim – just half a kilometre (usually I swim a whole k) because of the spine thing. It was a weekend, which is good because CJ minds Louisette no problem, but bad because weekend = more people = more anxiety. But I was being brave.

My normal pool was closed so I went to another one, and it was super crowded. Only three lanes were available for lap swimming, and they had signs indicating slow, medium and fast lanes. Each lane had about four people in it, but the fast lane had three so I made the rational choice (hesitating, because of my neurotic fear that someone will approach me and say, “What are you doing in this lane?!? You’re TOO SLOW” but acknowledging silently that everyone was better off if I chose based on crowd levels – and I wasn’t even the slowest person in the lane).

I lurched awkwardly into the pool, gritted my teeth against the awkwardness that is sharing a swim lane, and began my swim. It wasn’t fun, but I was determined.

Then someone stopped, facing me. I paused politely.

“You’re REALLY slow,” she said. “You should go in the slow lane.”

It’s not often one’s paranoid scenario comes true, but there it was.

“Thank you,” I said – which apparently is what I say when nightmares come true – but I did manage to sound sarcastic (which almost counts as a win). There was a microsecond pause as I grabbed at my foggy notion that human rights apply to me as well as everyone else. “But I won’t.”

I swam on, shaking with the trauma of it all but pleased with myself for responding quickly enough and rationally enough to satisfy my non-paranoid (and non-pathetic) side. It wasn’t going to be easy to finish the last three hundred metres, but I swam a bit faster and worked hard on keeping myself together.

The I was stopped at the end of the pool – by a staff member. A real live authority figure. She informed me that I was swimming in the fast lane and should move over for other swimmers. Clearly she’d been primed by my little friend – but now I was really freaking out. But I’d been primed too. I’d made the decision to go in that lane, had questioned it myself AND after being challenged, and was still sure I was right.

“I can’t move over!” I blubbered (which doesn’t SOUND impressive – but I could have silently shifted elsewhere). “I have contact lenses and I can’t go under the rope – and I can’t pull myself out because I recently had a baby!” (All true – I haul myself over the ropes when I have to, and it’s not pretty.)

“I’ll go get another staff member and we’ll move the rope for you.”

So I waited for my humiliating experience, determined to at least not capitulate without a fight. After a while, I waved to the staff member and said, “I’ll just swim another lap while I wait?” and swam off – with two laps to go.

During this lap the original woman caught up to me again. She stopped to share some more life advice with me – loudly: “Passive-aggressive behaviour is the downfall of feminism!”

“Wow!” was my oh so articulate response (I write novels, you know). But of course she’d crossed the line from Concerned Citizen to Nutbag and, by a process of elimination, that meant I really WAS being the rational one. I felt a lot better after that. The opinions of nutbags don’t bother me nearly as much as the rest of the population.

And so I finished another lap. . . and there was a new staff member waiting for me. I took a breath and steeled myself for further telling-off and the inevitable move to a different (equally crowded) lane.

“We are so sorry,” she began. “I don’t know what that woman has said to you just now, but she will be banned from this pool today. You are hardly slower than her, and the other lanes are just as crowded as this one, so it’s better that you stay where you are. You go ahead and swim in this lane as long as you like. That woman is about to leave and never come back.”

Of course I cried a bit (crying with strangers in public is normal, right?), but I finished my swim and went home shaken but proud. I realised the lane had gotten suspiciously empty in the second half of my swim – this woman had been haranguing everyone around her one by one in order to clear the lane for herself. Only I, Louise Curtis The Barely Holding It Together Lady, had the courage to stand up to her bullying and make it stop.

Downfall of feminism? Me? Not today.

Permalink 4 Comments

« Previous page · Next page »